Going Forward: PrettyPanda in 2016

It has been almost a month since my last post, but this is an important one for me. Throughout December I was able to really reflect on what is going on in my life, think about the highs and lows of the year, and set some goals that I want to share with you today. I hope it gets you thinking about what is really important in the New Year!

going forward prettypandamakeup

Blogging Goals

I think it is important to be a little clearer with myself and with you as readers about the goals for my blog this year. What started as a project for a class turned into a hobby, then turned into something that felt like it was weighing me down, and now my passion has been renewed.

  1. Yes, sometimes I do get free product for reviews. More often than you see on my blog. I really have gotten picky about what I show, even though I do get much, MUCH less than some bigger bloggers. It is about quality and I want to keep that going forward. I have never set out with the intention of making money with this blog. It makes me sad to see how many people start blogs solely to make money or get freebies. You won’t find that here.
  2. Keep it unedited. As much as possible. Those edited to high heavens Instagram pictures that get 400,000 likes? Not here. Never will be. If I do edit for the blog, it is basic Photoshop (cropping and putting my watermark and maybe some other text). You are going to see my pores in pictures, and my fine lines. But you will also see what color really looks like and how it applies to my skin, lips, or eyes. Because that is the real world. I do not feel the need to airbrush my skin for every picture and I hope rawness in pictures will start to become appreciated.
  3. Do more series and get back to my nerdy side. Yes it is popular to get ‘brows on fleek’, but I’m over here thinking about how to do a Star Wars themed series. Expect more of those in the future and if you ever want to collaborate, drop me a line!
  4. Enjoy the community. I fell in love with blogging because of the people I met, many of whom I still talk to via here or other social media quite a bit and who I consider mentors/inspiration and friends. I do not want or to expect to get thousands of followers overnight, but rather to keep engaging and building the community of beauty bloggers who have something real to say and show.

lips

Beauty Goals

There are a few beauty related goals I would like to share with you. They do not necessarily directly impact my blog, but it is something to think about!

  1. Don’t buy just to buy! I have really cut down on this this past year. I went on a few no buys and guess what, I really stopped craving that instant gratification of picking up a new lipstick. I got picky. I saved. And I am better off for it. I also really started to learn which brands work for me and which do not and to stay away from those despite how pretty new releases may look.
  2. Be ingredient conscious. I want to become more educated on the ingredients in my makeup and what works well with my skin and what doesn’t. And seek out cruelty free!
  3. Be more adventurous. Working can really cut into makeup play time. I just can’t wear a bold lip to work or my favorite color shadow, and by the time the weekend rolls around, I usually don’t wear makeup at all anymore. But I want to keep using what I have and enjoying it. That is the whole point! I need to regain my confidence in wearing bold colors when I can. I used to be a red lippie queen and I’d like to earn back that title!

color

Health and Personal Goals

Makeup is, after all, superficial. Fun, but material. I am grateful to have my health and family around me, but there are some things I do want to work on this year.

  1. Exercise more! I know this is probably at the top of everyone’s list, but I have received some negative weight comments. I am not saying those should make me feel bad, but generally I want to get back to the gym. I used to love my Zumba classes and Cardio Barre, but I got sick a few times this winter and between that and work never went back. I need to get back into the habit!
  2. Eat healthier! Another no-brainer. But writing it down sparks action, right? I need to find healthier meals that I can pack to-go for work. I am such a foodie though…sigh.
  3. Read more. Once I finished grad school, I stopped reading. Call it rebellion, but I just didn’t feel like picking up a book. I’d like to read 10 books this year. I know that is a tiny number, but we shall see how it goes!
  4. Take initiative. With anxiety, sometimes I don’t always reach out to make plans and I do like to curl up in my room. But making memories and having experiences is important.
  5. Write. I’ve wanted to start my novel for years now. But this year, I actually will. I want to be more creative in general. Open an Etsy store. Draw more. Pick back up my guitar. Make time for my passions.
  6. Not be afraid to fail. I hold myself back sometimes. I am afraid to disappoint or fail, but progress cannot be achieved that way. I hope to be bolder in this coming year.
  7. Don’t worry about the small things and always make time for family. My family is the most important thing in my life and I want to make sure that regardless of the changes that take place this year, we remain as close as ever.

Thank you for reading this — and Happy New Year! What are some of your goals for the coming year? I really appreciate you all supporting me and taking time out of your day to visit here. It means the world.

With much love,

Margo

8 thoughts on “Going Forward: PrettyPanda in 2016

  1. Happy New Year Margo! This is a wonderful post! I think that these are terrific goals and I wish you luck with working toward all your goals! I agree, I get some products for review as well, and I keep it 100% honest if I think people should go buy a product or not. I’m getting back into journal writing this year. I find that writing my feelings down good or bad really helps! I hope that 2016 is an amazing year for you!

    Like

  2. This is such an amazing and inspiring post Margo! I completely agree with all of your blogging goals and feel the same way!! And girl you know I’d be down for get in touch with my nerdy side and doing some Collabs with you!!
    I’m also trying to be more cautious with ingredients. Almost all of my skin care stuff is organic now, and I’m really paying attention to which brands are cruelty free. That’s awesome you are going to write a novel. That’s always been a dream of mine too! And I love that you set a reading goal for this year too, so did I!!

    Like

    • Yay! I will definitely think of some ideas and email you! You should one day write a novel too! I bet it would be amazing!! You actually were the one that inspired me to set a reading goal!

      Like

  3. This post was awesome Margo! I’m always thinking the same thing when I’m on instagram looking at pictures. Many are photoshopped way too much. I keep things real, that is why I love your blog. You can see the true color of any cosmetic and how it looks. Do what YOU love! People that are attracted to the same things will always gravitate towards you. Good luck with all of your goals!
    http://www.averysweetblog.com/

    Like

    • Thank you so so much!! I agree, I hope there is a trend away from the massive Photoshopping of pictures. It just shows you are good with a computer not necessarily color or application!

      Like

  4. Thank you for not buying into the whole super Photoshopped trend, I honestly can’t stand it. Some are photoshopped beyond recognition, it’s unbelievable! I’m the same as you, I only crop, add text and maybe adjust lighting and I don’t even have Photoshop, everything is done with my Macbook. Good on you on trying to eat healthier, it’s the one thing that I can never do…unfortunately I love my junk food way too much. LOL!

    Reflection of Sanity | StayLean Tea Australia Giveaway

    Like

Let's chat!

