TGIT: Scandal’s Abby Whelan Inspired Makeup

Thursday again?

Can you believe October is almost over? The months are just flying by! Today we bounce back to Scandal and one of my absolute favorite characters, Abby Whelan, who is played by Darby Stanchfield. (Side Note: Darby is a really cool follow on Insta if you like gorgeous vegetarian food pictures, when she’s not ‘grammin about her show).

Some background: Abby was/is/kinda still/only time will tell Olivia’s best friend and is now White House Press Secretary where she is a total boss at handling all the crazy situations thrown at her.

Scandal Abby Whelan inspired makeup

And no…I did not dye my hair. Just a little two second Photoshop fun. And to remind myself to not dye my hair this color. I may be a large percentage Irish, but I’m just not Irish enough for this.

I digress. Abby’s makeup is mostly neutral, but what I love is that she is always playing up her blue eyes with either navy or plum liner and matching mascara. It is understated but gorgeous, and obviously completely wearable for the workplace…considering she’s at the WH. Abby keeps it balanced with a soft nude lip.

Scandal Abby Whelan inspired makeup

For the eyes, I used:

Beautifully Disney L’Amour Mauve palette ($30): I used the lightest shade all over my eye and then deepened the crease with the brown. Any simple eye look will do!

It Cosmetics No-Tug Waterproof Gel Liner in Navy ($22): I used this on my waterline. Abby lines her full waterline but I am more comfortable with the outer third.

Marcelle Waterproof Eye Liner in Indigo ($11): Truly stays all day. The slight sparkle in this liner gives interest and I did an understated flick at the corner of my eye.

Clinique Chubby Lash Fattening Mascara in Portly Plum ($17): I thought the plum was a fun contrast to the blue liner but still doesn’t read ‘crazy’, even up close.

Scandal Abby Whelan inspired makeup

What is cool about this look is that you can go as simple, as I did, or as dramatic as you want. I think liner in a color other than black always looks fresh.

Scandal Abby Whelan inspired makeup

To finish the look, I used:

ColourPop Super Shock Cheek in Mochi ($8): These blushes work best when used with a stippling brush.

NYX Pencil Lip Liner in Natural ($4): I lined and filled in my lips with this.

Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick in Nude Lust ($8): I just dabbed this in the center of my lips to create fullness and finish the nude lip.

Scandal Abby Whelan inspired makeup

And to finish, another full face shot (with my UP! t-shirt…love that movie) and one of my favorite Abby quotes from when she worked for Olivia. Olivia Pope and Associates got no rest!

Happy TGIT!

9 thoughts on “TGIT: Scandal’s Abby Whelan Inspired Makeup

Let's chat!

