The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly: October 2015

As I move through my ’empty’ project, I feel really accomplished to finish things each month, so sitting down to write an installment of this series is always fun!

This month is mostly good again, I am happy to say!

the good the bad and the ugly october 2015

The Good:

Vaseline Intensive Care Spray Moisturizer in Aloe Soothe ($5-8): I received this free from Influenster but I will be purchasing again (in Spring/Summer). I was hesitant about a spray moisturizer, but this aloe scent smelled so so good for the summer and felt cooling on the skin. It leaves the perfect amount of moisture for Spring/Summer but I will be switching to my body creams for Winter. This spray lasted me about a month and a half with daily use all over my body. It also absorbs very quickly

Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover ($9.50): This is the travel size, which I actually didn’t directly pay for since I got it in a GWP, but I love this stuff for its gentleness on my eyes but also being able to fully remove even waterproof liner.

Jack Black Lip Balm in Lemon and Chamomile ($7): I adore this scent! It is so fresh and yet calming at the same time. I love using a bit more for a night treatment. I can’t say enough good things about Jack Black balm.

NYX HD Concealer in Fair/CW 02 ($5): There seems to be a discrepancy since what I used to purchase as Fair in this concealer is now CW 02 so be aware. This matches my super fair skin really well and is also great as a subtle highlight. It is not full coverage. More light to medium but does not emphasize my fine lines. I have repurchased about four times now.

Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream ($5): Smells like fresh lemons and keeps my cuticles in shape like nothing else! Will repurchase.

Vaseline Instensive Care Spray Moisturizer in Aloe Soothe  Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover  Jack Black Lip Balm in Lemon and Chamomile  NYX HD Concealer in Fair/CW 02  Burt's Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream

The Bad:

Dove Advanced Care Cool Essentials Deodorant ($4): Not necessarily a bad product, it just didn’t work for me. I also think 48 hour protection is a ridiculous claim.

Mario Bedescu Oil Free Moisturizer (Full size $28): This is a sample packet I got a few uses out of. It really didn’t give me enough moisture and I wish it would have worked!

Biore Deep Cleansing Pore Strips ($8): Compared to regular pore strips, these don’t pull out any extra junk and do not justify the price difference. I am trying to move away from using pore strips anyway.

Vaseline Instensive Care Spray Moisturizer in Aloe Soothe  Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover  Jack Black Lip Balm in Lemon and Chamomile  NYX HD Concealer in Fair/CW 02  Burt's Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle CreamThe Ugly:

NYX HD Eye Shadow Base ($5): Now…this is a product I really used to love. I liked the cheapness, the doe-foot applicator for on the go, and the nude/sheer color of the product. But this last repurchased…I think NYX changed the formula. It caused my shadows to crease badly and now smells rancid. It may be a fluke but I won’t repurchase.

Do you have any empties or have you hit pan on anything?

10 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly: October 2015

  1. I really love those series post Margo! I haven’t done an empties post in a while but I’ve considered including some bad and ugly products into my favorites post and doing a more of favorites and flops so I can let everyone know who does work for me!

    Anyways- I’ve heard good things about the Nyx HD comcealer, and I haven’t tried any spray moisturizers before but I like how that one has aloe in it! I also really dislike that dove deodorant. I use to use it all the time and loved it but then I felt like it stopped working for me.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by Tania! I guess my black heads are just too embedded for these to work that well anymore! And yes, I am starting to realize I am not alone in hating that deodorant! Thanks!

      Like

  2. I too have read many good reviews on the NYX concealer but have never personally tried it myself. Another blogger friend of mine also swears by it and she uses it in all her makeup posts. Shame about the NYX eyeshadow base, sometimes I wonder why companies change the formula when there’s nothing wrong with it at the first place. I honestly need to try writing my first empties post but I have a really bad habit of getting bored of products after using them a few times. LOL!

    Shireen | Reflection of Sanity

    Like

Let's chat!

