TGIT: Scandal’s Olivia Pope Inspired Makeup

Hey!

Once again it is TGIT and my series continues! Last week I was so inspired by a makeup look that I saw on the Scandal premiere and I knew I wanted to do it for today’s post. If you didn’t watch last week or just aren’t into Scandal, to catch you up, Olivia Pope (Kerry Washington) got all dressed up for a party at the White House and her makeup looked amazing and really on trend.

olivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeup

The makeup wasn’t overdone. It is a lightened smoked-out eye with glowing cheeks and a nude lip. I thought this look was perfect for going out while still looking really chic, so I have decided to recreate it!

On Scandal, Olivia’s makeup look is very, very natural most of the time. Because when you are running around D.C. fixing people’s problems and ‘hanging out’ with the President, makeup seems like an afterthought. Which is why I love how the makeup artists on the show took her look to a little bit glam without seeming unrealistic for her personality.

olivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeup

I kept the products on my face to a minimum because I wanted my natural skin to show through. Kerry/Olivia has flawless skin and even though I don’t…sometimes less is more!

I used:

It Cosmetics Celebration Illumination Foundation in Light ($35): A light layer of this left my skin still showing through. I am still iffy on this foundation after having it for a while, but your favorite BB or CC cream would work great here!

Bare Minerals Brightening Pearl Mineral Veil ($21): This gives skin the prettiest glow when buffed all over after foundation.

Bare Minerals Ready Luminizer in The Magic Moment (part of a QVC kit): I used this as my blush for s subtle glow.

olivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeup\

Even though the eye is smoked, I don’t feel like it should be complicated, so I tried to use as few of products as possible! Which are:

Colourpop Super Shock Matte Shadow in Girl Crush ($5): I used this as a base all over my lid.

NYX Nude Matte Shadow in Craving ($5): This was my crease color.

Mally Evercolor Starlight Waterproof Liner in Gunmetal ($18): I lined my upper lash line and my waterline. I like that the grey is less harsh than black for this look.

olivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeupolivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeup

To finish the look, I created a nude lip that wouldn’t compete with the dark eyes. I used:

NYX Pencil Lip Liner in Natural ($3.49): I overdrew my top lip a bit to give myself more of a pout and then filled in.

Too Faced La Creme Lipstick in Taffy ($22): A perfect pink nude swiped on my lips.

L’Oreal Colour Riche Extraordinaire Liquid Lipstick in Nude Ballet ($10): I added this to the center of my lips for dimension.

olivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeup

olivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeup olivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeupTo end the post are a few more pictures of the look! I hope you like it! It was really fun to get all glammed up for this look because I rarely ever do a smoked eye. Ever! I felt out of my comfort zone but I ended up loving the result.

olivia pope kerry washington scandal inspired makeup

Olivia always says “It’s handled” and I think I definitely handled this look! Makeup accomplished!

Happy TGIT!

9 thoughts on “TGIT: Scandal’s Olivia Pope Inspired Makeup

Let's chat!

