TGIT: How To Get Away With Murder’s Bonnie Winterbottom Inspired Makeup

Hey Pandas!

If you watch anything on ABC, you are probably familiar with TGIT (Thank God It’s Thursday), which is a night of tv dramas such as Grey’s Anatomy, How to Get Away With Murder, and Scandal. I’ve gotten into the latter two shows this summer and I am really excited for their returns, so during this fall I will be doing a makeup look inspired by actresses or characters on the shows on Thursdays. But even if you do not watch these shows, I hope you still find the looks fun as I am trying to make them very simple to replicate (and all of them will be great for Fall!).

I’ve wanted to bring more of my geeky loves to this blog and I am so into tv and movies and recreating looks from them that I was excited to start this series and I hope it will be something you look forward to.

To kick off TGIT, I did a look inspired by Bonnie Winterbottom from How To Get Away With Murder. She is played by the phenomenal Liza Weil (Gilmore Girls!) and as I have binge watched the show, I have been fascinated by her everyday makeup look, which is what I will show you here!

how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup

For those unfamiliar, Bonnie is the law associate of Annalise (Viola Davis) and is extremely smart and dedicated. Sometimes she looks pretty scary (see me making my most hardcore Bonnie face above), but other times, she seems sweet. One thing is for sure: she knows how to rock a red lip while keeping the rest of her makeup simple, which I think is a very cool and easy look to transition into Fall.

how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup

For my face, I wanted to keep my base flawless and glow-y, with a subtle contour. Here is what I used:

Clinique Superprimer Universal ($27): Primes and fills in pores.

Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous Foundation Shade 105 ($7.99): A light application of this lets skin shine through.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer in Light ($24): Pat under eyes in a triangle shape and highlight the bridge of the nose.

It Cosmetics My Sculpted Face Palette ($38): Use contour shades on cheekbones and lightest powder to set concealer.

how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup

To finish off the face and start on the eyes, here are the next few products in my arsenal for this look:

Sleek Cosmetics Blush in Rose Gold ($6.99): Bonnie doesn’t have much color to her cheeks, but this nice, glowy shade gives just a hint of pink.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Powder ($24): Use to further set under eyes and the rest of foundation.

NYX Nude Matte Shadow in Lap Dance ($4.99): This is my absolute go-to base shade, as you can see that I have hit major pan. Gently sweep over eyes.

how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup

To finish the eye look, which is very simple and brightening, here is what I used:

Lorac Behind The Scenes Eye Primer ($21): One of my fave primers. Make sure to gently pat on eyes before anything else.

Clinique Chubby Tint for Eyes in Grandest Gold ($17): I tapped this on the middle of the lid to add a hint of sparkle.

Clinique Just Brow-sing Brush On Mousse in Blonde ($16.50): I am still testing this out, but loving it so far! Just a little bit gives me natural looking brows.

NYX Matte Liquid Liner ($5): I love the matte finish. Just a thin line will define the eyes.

L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Mascara ($8.99): One coat gives great volume but doesn’t look overdone!

how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup

To get Bonnie’s signature red lip, I wanted something classic and matte.

NYX Retractable Lip Liner in Red ($4.50): A bold lip like this definitely will need a bit of care in application, so I reached for this creamy formula.

Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella ($26): I adore this color. It is matte but totally flattering and wears really well.

how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup

Here are some pictures so that you can better see the contouring of my cheekbones and the highlight under the eyes, which I think is essential to this look. Lit from within skin and the bold lip is a perfect combo.

how to get away with murder bonnie winterbottom inspired makeup

To end this post, another picture of the full face look with my favorite Bonnie quote! And with me smiling…because, I like to think I am actually nice?? Only time will tell if Bonnie really is!

Enjoy TGIT tonight if you watch, and thanks for sticking with me! Is this a look you can see yourself wearing?

xo Margo

11 thoughts on “TGIT: How To Get Away With Murder’s Bonnie Winterbottom Inspired Makeup

  1. This makeup look is so gorgeous Margo! Cruella looks amazing on you, and I’m going to have to try to get that lipliner to go under it!! I love the idea for this post series! I haven’t watched any of those shows but I’m still looking forward to all your makeup looks!
    We should totally do some geeky love collabs together!

    Like

Let's chat!

